Jo Konta says she is feeling good before gracing her hometown tournament once again

Hometown girl Jo Konta is looking to ‘maximise’ her time in each tournament as she builds up to a tilt at Wimbledon this year.

The British no.1 will fly the flag as Britain’s main hope in the women’s draw at Wimbledon this year. But speaking to the media on Monday, Konta is keeping her expectations for the upcoming Championship close to her chest, saying: “My only expectations are of myself, and those are very personal to me.”

The Brit has had a busy grass court schedule so far, she got to the final of Nottingham but lost to Donna Vekic who produced a good performance to deny Konta what would have been a timely tournament win. Then in Birmingham she reached the second round only to lose to American Coco Vandeweghe.

But with Eastbourne being a hometown event, the British no.1 will want to put on a good performance considering she reached the semi-finals last year.

Embed from Getty Images

Speaking about her impending appearance, Konta said: “Well, I love that centre court over there. I have had some of my earlier big wins on there, and I have had a lot of great matches on that court against a lot of great players.”

As Wimbledon approaches, Konta will undoubtedly be the main British hope as she looks to go further than the second round at SW19.

“I think I’m actually feeling really good. I’m healthy, I’m enjoying playing,” said Konta. “But overall, I’m enjoying the grass. I’m enjoying trying to figure out how to play better on it, how to adapt to it well,” concluded Konta.


Image credits – Mike Hewitt

One thought on “Jo Konta says she is feeling good before gracing her hometown tournament once again

Leave a Reply

