Heather Watson upbeat despite losing in the semi-final

Heather Watson says she was ‘pretty disappointed’ as she lost her semi-final match at Eastbourne to Caroline Wozniacki 2-6, 6-3, 5-7.

After coming through two matches yesterday in which she beat Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova and Barbora Strycova; her match against Wozniacki was set to be an entertaining tussle between a pair that has had a terrific week on the courts of Devonshire Park.

But it was the world no.6 Wozniacki which got the better of Watson today, and speaking after the British no.3 said: “Right now I’m pretty disappointed that I lost. As far as my performance goes, I’m pleased with how I fought back and got myself back into the match.”

Embed from Getty Images

“I was a bit slow and heavy to the ball, making a lot of mistakes,” continued Watson. Even though losing at a semi-final stage is difficult, it’s been a good week for the 126th ranked Watson.

En-route to her semi-final she had beaten three players in the top 50 and with Wimbledon around the corner everything is looking good for the Guernsey born Watson.

Watson says she is ‘feeling great within herself’ as Wimbledon looms

At the start of the week, not many would have predicted Watson making the semi-finals, but the 25-year-old has been impressive this week and with Wimbledon around the corner it bodes well for Watson.

“I’m pleased. It’s been a good week. I’m feeling ready for Wimbledon,” said the British no.2.

Watson continued, saying: “I’m feeling great about my game and got some great match wins under my belt this week and just match wins. I’m feeling confident going into next week.”

Leave a Reply

