Konta says the most important thing is her health after pulling out of Eastbourne

Johanna Konta had to pull out of her hometown tournament this morning after sustaining a thoracic spine injury after her fall on Thursday against Angelique Kerber.

Konta was due to play Karolina Pliskova in a re-run of last year’s semi-final, but it wasn’t to be as the British no.1 had to pull out of Eastbourne with Wimbledon on the horizon.

“I think most importantly for me right now is just to look after my health in general. I obviously had a bit of a nasty fall yesterday, so I made the decision based on the fact that I’m quite sore through my thoracic spine and just basically looking to make sure that I recover in the best way possible,” said Konta.

“I didn’t sleep too well, but I think that’s normal,” added Konta.

The Wimbledon draw was this morning and it saw Konta paired up with Su-Wei Hsieh, the player who beat her in the first round of the French Open. But at the moment Konta isn’t thinking about the Championships next week.

“I’m not thinking that far ahead right now,” said Konta.

Embed from Getty Images

“Right now I’m taking this next 24 hours, and I’m looking to rest well and to make sure that I get my health back to the best place possible,” added a dejected Konta.

Konta was relishing Pliskova clash

After last year where Pliskova beat Konta in three sets, the British player was hoping to exact revenge, but with injury it meant Konta wouldn’t get the chance.

But speaking about the match, Konta said: “It would have been nice to have competed today against Karolina. I played her in the same stage last year. It would be a nice battle again to have, but again, most importantly is my health regardless of the tournament next week, regardless of this week.”


Image credits – Getty Images – Charlie Crowhurst

Leave a Reply

